Kilcock fall to late Doyle penalty

Allenwood 1-7 Kilcock 0-9

A penalty from Kildare legend Johnny Doyle snatched a late victory from the jaws of defeat for Allenwood against Kilcock in division two of the Kildare SFL on Wednesday night.

Looking to secure their third win from three outings, Kilcock started off the better of the two sides and were in front after four minutes when wing forward Fearghal O’Brien pointed, Declan Gibbons charges doubled that lead when Eoin McArdle slotted over a free. Allenwood replied with two Johnny Doyle frees to level the scores at two points apiece.

Kilcock midfielder Conor Caulfield then split the posts to put the away side a point to the good before corner-forward Shane O’Rourke scored his first point of the game from a free. 

Good build up play from the hosts lead to Doyle kicking his third point of the game but Kilcock went straight back down the field and wing-back Mark Durkan cut inside to kick over from distance. 

Kilcock looked in control but Allenwood kept trying to put pressure on and were rewarded with a point. Eoin McArdle hit the final point of the half immediately afterwards and Kilcock went in at the Half-Time whiste 0-6 to 0-4 up. 

2nd half Allenwood came out all guns blazing in the second half but only scored one point for the amount of pressure they put on Kilcock. The away side then hot three point without reply. David Duke finished off a good Kilcock move to point over. Willie Bright waltzed himself onto a pass to get his first score of the game and Shane O’Rourke got his second point of the game. 

Kilcock were four points up and were cruising but Allenwood were not finished. They kicked the next two scores, one from play and a free before they were awarded the penalty. 

Johnny Doyle stepped up and slotted it home. kilcock fought hard to pull the game back in their favour but it wasn’t to be. 
The final score ended as Allenwood 1-7 Kilcock 0-9. 

1. Shane Stone

2. Rory O’Brien

3. Stephen Duffy

4. Conor Sheridan 

5. Mark Durkan (0-1)

6. Jason Gibbons 

7. Daniel Courtney

8. Conor Caulfield (0-1)

9. Ciarán Murray

10. David Duke (0-1)

11. Willie Bright (0-1)

12. Fearghal O’Brien (0-1)

13. Daragh McArdle

14. Shane O’Rourke (0-2, 1f)

15. Eoin McArdle (0-2, 1f)

Sub’s used: Declan Keane, paddy Kelly, Cian Duke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.